Woman Crush Wednesday: Rihanna Bares it All

Hola, Spiiirits!

At the CFDA Fashion Awards on June 2nd, Rihanna bared it all in a completely sheer crystal-net floor length gown that was custom made by designer Adam Selman. Well “bared it all” may be a little too forward…she did have a flesh tone thong on that beautiful bod. Talk about shining bright like a diamond, Rih!

rihftnblog1

rihftnblog2

Rih paid homage to the Josephine Baker era in this floor length frock, which hosted 230, 000 Swarovski crystals.

Now of course Rih’s bold, nude (or at least mostly nude) expression, has brought much backlash. (Instagram even, to my knowledge, removed her page because of it, TUH!) However, I am here to say that I am in support of this fashion choice!

First of all, Rihanna looks beautiful and her body is to D-I-E for in this dress. Second, why is it that women have to be ashamed of their bodies? These bodies (male or female) are blessings from Source, so why is it we cannot honor them as such? Rihanna is a young woman in her prime finding strength in her femininity, versus the shame that is so readily taught, and I applaud her for that. (BTW this is not the first time Rih has worn something sheer in public that exposes her breasts nor that she’s been photographed topless. So I don’t understand why this time is SO much more of a big deal than the others).

Also, I am a believer in the #freethenipple movement. It is simply the gender roles set by a patriarchal society that allow for a man to freely be topless, nipple exposed, but shame a woman for the thought of the same thing. Even though the chest scientifically contains the same visible make up. While I love clothing, I just don’t think nudity should be so frowned upon. It is after all, our original form. We are taught to be ashamed of and hide our root physical form and then we wonder why we find it hard to love ourselves.

Remember, God made the naked form. Man, made clothing. That’s all I’m saying…

BUT…I’m really curious to know you guys’ opinion on Rih’s outfit and public displays of nudity as a whole. Do you agree with Rih’s #freethenipple approach or do you think she should have covered up for the awards?

Let me know!

☮ XOXO A.T. ☮

Say Something! Leave a Reply